AP Announces Trio of Eagles All-Pros

McCoy SnowEagles running back LeSean McCoy added to his accolades Friday when he and two teammates were named first team All-Pro. 

Eagles' LeSean McCoy, Evan Mathis and Jason Peters all were named to the Associated Press All-Pro First team on Friday. 

In addition to the distinction, McCoy and Peters also last month were named starters in the Pro Bowl. 

For the second time in three seasons McCoy is a first teamer after setting both the Eagles franchise single season rushing and scrimmage yard records, as well as finishing as the NFL's rushing champion. 

Meanwhile, Peters is also an All-Pro for the second consecutive season and second time in his career. Both his Pro Bowl election and distinction as an All-Pro comes just one year after missing the entire 2012 season with a twice-ruptured Achilles Tendon. 

He’s the first Eagles tackle since Tra Thomas to make multiple All-Pro teams, although Thomas never made the first team. Peters is one of just four Eagles offensive linemen in franchise history with multiple first-team All-Pro honors. The others are Chuck Bednarik (five), Al Wistert (four) and Bob Brown (three).

Mathis has consistently rated among the top offensive guards in the league over the past two years and this is his first season as an All-Pro. Unlike his two teammates he did not make the Pro Bowl roster. 

The last time the Eagles had three-first teamers was the 2004 season that finished with the franchise appearing in Super Bowl XXXIX in Jacksonville. That season Brian Dawkins, wide receiver Terrell Owens and cornerback Lito Sheppard each made it. 

Matt Lombardo is the Editor-In-Chief of Eagledelphia and also an on-air personality on 97.5 FM The Fanatic in Philadelphia. Join the conversation and follow Matt on Twitter.


Go to top button